Tuesday, November 08, 2011

County GOP Gains Seats in Row Offices


There will be a changing of majority and membership on the Schuylkill County Board of Commissioners following Tuesday's general election. In unofficial results, Incumbent Republican Commissioner Frank Staudenmeier earned another 4 year term and will be joined by fellow Republican George Halcovage and Democrat Gary Hess. They were the top three vote getters, surpassing newcomer John Plachko, Jr. Incumbents Mantura Gallagher and Francis McAndrew did not run for re-election.


The race for Schuylkill County Controller was a contentious one in this year's general election. Incumbent Independent Melinda Kantner was seeking re-election as an Independent. However, Pottsville businessman Christy Joy was the top vote getter, followed by Brad Petchulis and Melinda Kantner.

Row Offices

Two Republican county row office holders, Recorder of Deeds Matt Dudish and Treasurer Jackie McGovern were unopposed and re-elected. In other unofficial results in the race for Prothonotary, Minersville funeral director David Dutcavich has unseated incumbent P.J. Symons. For Clerk of Courts, incumbent Steve Lukach won re-election over Brad Gotschall. For Register of Wills, Theresa Santai Gaffney defeated incumbent Michael McCord. In the race for Coroner, Dr. David Moylan defeated incumbent Joseph Lipsett.


James Goodman, Schuylkill County District Attorney was unopposed in the race to replace retired Judge D. Michael Stine. Judges Charles Miller and Cyrus Palmer Dolbin were retained for another 10 year term on the bench.

District Judge

Christina Hale was elected District Judge in Tuesday's election, running unopposed. Incumbent District Judges James Reiley, James Ferrier and Stephen Bayer were all re-elected.

The results of contested municipal elections are complete, and we have the winners. These results were posted by the Schuylkill County Election Bureau, and are unofficial.

Ashland Council (4 year term): Fred J. Spieles; Raymond Walacavage; Patrick J. Cooney

Ashland Council (2 year term): Fred Spieles; Raymond Walacavage

Coaldale Council: Nancy Lorchak: Michael Doerr; Thomas Keerans, Sr.; Steve Tentylo

Frackville Council: Ronald Jordan; Charles A. Berger; Brian Dillman

Girardville Council: Joseph Catizone; Charles Marquardt; Helenanne Brennan

Mahanoy City Council: Francis Burke; Thomas Flamini; Larry Levy, Jr.; Patti Schnitzius

McAdoo Council: Mary Labert; William Slovik; John Perhonitch; Marion DeBalko

Middleport Council: Elizabeth McClure; Leo Oswald

Minersville Council: Paul Vuksta; Edward Raczka; Jennifer Beach

Port Carbon Council: Harold Herndon; A. Berneice Shirey; Raymond Steranko

Pottsville Council: James Muldowney; Michael Halcovage. Republican Kerry Ansbach trails Michael Halcovage by seven votes.

Saint Clair Council: John Houseknecht; William Dempsey; Valeria Davis; John Burke

Schuylkill Haven Council: Ruth LaScala Tucci; Roger Spotts; Mike Devlin; Carl Berger

Shenandoah Council: John Szczyglak; Robert Kulpowicz; Brian Conroy


Post a Comment

<< Home